Monday, 2024-07-22, 10:51 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » September » 11 » Killing Floor - 1969 - Killing Floor
5:54 PM
Killing Floor - 1969 - Killing Floor

The South London-based Killing Floor was originally a pop duo formed by lead guitarist Mick Clarke and vocalist/harmonica player Bill Thorndycraft. During the British blues boom of 1968-1969, they decided to form a "straight blues" group, recruiting prospective members from the classified pages of Melody Maker. Joining them were piano player Lou Martin, bassist Stuart MacDonald, and drummer Bazz Smith. Taking their name from Howlin' Wolf's "Killing Floor" (Wolf's cover was itself a version of Robert Johnson's "The Lemon Song"), the band played just one gig before ex-Radio Caroline DJ and ardent blues fanatic John Edward offered to manage them. Edward's connection with the Southern Music publishing company led to them signing with Southern's Spark Records imprint. The band was booked into Pye Recording Studios and with Edward  aboard as "producer," they recorded their self-titled debut in 12 days' time. Most of the material was re-configured Chicago blues classics, except for a cover of Willie Dixon's "You Need Love." Killing Floor was released in the U.S. on new London subsidary Sire. By mid-1972, Killing Floor had disbanded.

01 - Woman You Need Love
02 - Nobody By My Side
03 - Come Home Baby
04 - Bedtime Blues
05 - Sunday Morning
06 - Try To Understand
07 - My Mind Can Ride Easy
08 - Wet
09 - Keep On Walking
10 - Forget It
11 - Lou's Blues
12 - People Change Your Mind

Category: Oldies | Views: 1272 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  September 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0