Monday, 2024-07-22, 10:18 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » September » 21

Brownsville Station was a rock band from Michigan that was popular in the 1970s. Original members included Cub Koda (guitarist/vocalist), Mike Lutz (guitarist/vocalist), T.J. Cronley (drummer), and Tony Driggins (bassist/vocals). Brownsville Station was formed in Ann Arbor in 1969. Brownsville Station's early albums included song covers from bands which had inspired them. In 1970, they released their debut studio album No BS on a Warners Bros. label. Their biggest hit, "Smokin' In the Boys Room", from their 1973 album Yeah!, reached #3 on U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart and #27 in the UK Singles Chart. The track sold over two million copies and was awarded a gold disc status on 15 January 1974.A Night In The Town "is, together with Yeah & Schoolpunks their best album. It's also the one closest to the deep Detroit roots that brought forward so many magnificent bands thru out time of soul, blues and RnB". Brownsville Station disbanded in 1979 and their final studio album, Air Special, was released by Epic in 1980.

01 - Rock With The Music
02 - I Got Time
03 - Lovin' Lady Lee
04 - Mad For Me
05 - Mister Robert
06 - Wanted (Dead Or Alive)
07 - Country Flavour
08 - Jonah's Here To Stay
09 - Leavin' Here
10 - The Man Who Wanted More (Saints Rock & Roll)

Category: Oldies | Views: 1557 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

East of Eden was a British progressive rock band from Bristol, who had a Top 10 hit in England with the single, "Jig-a-Jig", in 1971. The track became something of a stylistic albatross around the band's neck, since it did not resemble their usual sound or anything else they normally played. Although some might consider this group as being a symphonic progressive band, others state that their style is mostly jazz oriented. Combining flutes, violins and tape loops to folk, gypsy and psychedelic music, the East of Eden style was always heavily supported on a pure rock base; strong and experimental. Dave Arbus / electric violin, flute, bagpipe, recorders, two saxophones, Ron Caines / Soprano & Alto saxophones (acoustic & amplified), organ, vocals, Dave Dufont / percussions, Geoff Nicholson / guitars, Vocals and Steve York / bass guitar, Harmonica, Indian thumb piano. In 1968 they moved to London, and the group was signed to a recording contract with Decca's progressive rock imprint Deram label. In 1969 they released the Mercator Projected album, followed shortly after by the Snafu and Jig-a-Jig albums (both released in 1970). The band broke up in 1978.

01 - Northern Hemisphere
02 - Isadora
03 - Waterways
04 - Centaur Woman
05 - Bathers
06 - Communion
07 - Moth
08 - In The Stable Of The Sphinx

Category: Oldies | Views: 1415 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

Roseville/Michigan band, Doug Koun, Len Dunn, Wayne and George R. Dunn. Some rock collectors/fans consider Ellie Pop’s only album a mid 60’s classic. The sound is straight out of 1966/early 1967 (though this album was released in 1968) with strong Beatles influenced melodies and harmonies. Other comparisons that come to mind are a guitar oriented Association or the Merry-Go-Round, on their less trippy, Beatles inspired material.

01 - Seven North Frederick
02 - Winner Loser
03 - Can't Be Love
04 - Remembering (Sunnybrook)
05 - Seems I've Changed
06 - Caught In The Rain
07 - Oh My Friend
08 - Some Time Ago
09 - No Thanks Mr. Mann
10 - Whatcha Gonna Do

Category: Oldies | Views: 1606 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

Flash was an English progressive rock group, formed by former Yes guitarist Peter Banks and vocalist Colin Carter in August 1971. Bassist Ray Bennett and drummer Mike Hough completed the line-up. The band went straight into the studio in November 1971 to record its debut album, and performed its first gig on January 14, 1972 (coincidentally, exactly one year later, on January 14, 1973, Flash would fill New York's Philharmonic Hall). The band released three albums, Flash (1972), In The Can (1972) and Out Of Our Hands (1973). Flash disbanded during an American tour in Albuquerque, New Mexico in November 1973.

01 - Lifetime
02 - Monday Morning Eyes
03 - Black And White
04 - Stop That Banging
05 - There No More

Category: Oldies | Views: 1768 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

Austin, Texas band formed in 1966. George Kinney (voc, guitar), Tom Ramsey (lead guitar), Jimmy Bird (rhythm guitar), Bill Hallmark (bass), and Bobby Rector (drums). Produced by Rogers, (Kenny Rogers brother), 1967's Power Plant actually bares a strong resemblance to The 13th Floor Elevators' catalog. The two bands certainly share the same mid-60s; low-tech Texas-psych roots. As a small label with little in the way of resources, International Artists did little to promote the LP nationally. Frustrated with the situation, Kinney promptly tendered his notice, relocating to California. The band subsequently collapsed with Hallmark reappeared as a member of Rubyyat.

01 - Evolution
02 - This Way Please
03 - Starvation
04 - I'll Be Around
05 - Seeing Is Believing
06 - My Time
07 - A Nice Surprise
08 - Every Day
09 - Tell Me Why
10 - Reaching Out To You

Category: Oldies | Views: 1354 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

Hotlegs was a short-lived English pop band best known for its hit single "Neanderthal Man" in 1970. The band consisted of Eric Stewart, Kevin Godley, Lol Creme and – briefly – Graham Gouldman. According to Eric Stewart, in the 2009 BBC 'The Record Producers' radio documentary, the band's name came about because "there was a lovely girl at the time, a receptionist called Kathy, and she used to wear these hot pants, and we always used to call her "hot legs", and so we thought we'll call the group Hotlegs". Thinks: School Stinks is the first album released by Hotlegs. The album, featuring the band's hit single "Neanderthal Man", was recorded at Strawberry Studios in Stockport near Manchester and engineered by the studio's co-owners, Eric Stewart and Peter Tattersall. The cover, designed by Kevin Godley and Lol Creme, depicted a scratched school desk, a concept that was repeated two years later on School's Out by Alice Cooper. The album was released in some countries with an alternative cover. In 1972 the band was relaunched as 10cc.

01 - Neanderthal Man
02 - How Many Times
03 - Desperate Dan
04 - Take Me Back
05 - Um Wah, Um Woh
06 - Suite F.A.
        1st Movement - On My Way
        2nd Movement - Indecision
        3rd Movement - The Return

07 - Fly Away
08 - Run Baby Run
09 - All God's Children

Category: Oldies | Views: 1791 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-09-21

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  September 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0