Monday, 2024-07-22, 10:09 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » September » 18 » Crystal Circus - 1968 - In Relation To Our Times
2:05 AM
Crystal Circus - 1968 - In Relation To Our Times

"Supposedly a 2001 reissue of an untitled 1968 album, that only made it to the test-pressing stage. One copy surfaced in 2000 with a price-tag of $1500. This group/project was in Bill Holmes' All-American stable of inter-twined groups from in and around the Santa Barbara, California area. Greg Munford had been with Thee Sixpence up to the point that they recorded the Incense And Peppermint 45 and became The Strawberry Alarm Clock. Crystal Circus would appear to have been his next venture. He was involved in other projects and a 45 released in '67 by The Shapes Of Sound - Lost Weekend / Twisted Conversation (All-American 343) - is a likely candidate, given that Twisted Conversation turns up on the Crystal Circus LP. Munford, Solomon and Bielan were certainly involved with another band on All-American, The Indescribably Delicious, and are credited on the I.D. LP reissue - Good Enough To Eat. Bob Feldman also pops up amongst the composer credits. If this is a bona fide album, one has to wonder why it was not released, given the success of the Strawberry Alarm Clock. The vocal style and arrangements on the soft-centred pop-psych numbers (In Relation, Merry Go Round, Circus And Zoo World) are uncannily similar. There are trippy vibes and elegant baroque gestures (Castles, Twisted Conversation) counterbalanced by harder material that harks back to the sounds of Thee Sixpence:- strident garage-pop with blistering guitar (Don't Say I Didn't Warn You), Cream-like fuzz-grunge (The Difference Between Us), and brass-pop bombast (Never Again). Whatever the real truth behind it, this reissue unearths a fine selection of '67-'68 confectionery - recommended."(Max Waller in "Fuzz, Acid and Flowers")

01 - In Relation (To Our Times)
02 - Don't Say I Didn't Warn You
03 - Girl Like You
04 - Sittin' & Thinkin'
05 - Twisted Conversation
06 - Merry-Go-Round
07 - Circus And Zoo World
08 - Never Again
09 - Castles (In The Sand)
10 - Sweet High
11 - The Difference Between Us
12 - The World Of Seas And Rivers

Category: Oldies | Views: 1504 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  September 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0