Saturday, 2024-07-13, 8:20 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » September » 13 » Cradle Of Filth - 1996-98 - Albums
1:39 AM
Cradle Of Filth - 1996-98 - Albums
Cradle Of Filth - 1996 - V Empire (or Dark Faerytales in Phallustein) EP

Cradle of Filth are an English extreme metal band, formed in Suffolk in 1991. The band's musical style evolved from black metal to a cleaner and more "produced" amalgam of gothic metal, symphonic black metal and other extreme metal styles, while their lyrical themes and imagery are heavily influenced by gothic literature, poetry, mythology and horror films. The band has successfully broken free from its original niche by courting mainstream publicity (often to the chagrin of its early fanbase), and this increased accessibility has brought coverage by the likes of Kerrang! and MTV, frequent main stage appearances at major festivals such as Ozzfest, Download and even the mainstream Sziget Festival, and in turn a more "commercial" image. They have sometimes been perceived as Satanic by casual observers, although their outright lyrical references to Satanism are few and far between, and use of Satanic imagery has arguably always had more to do with the shock value and mythological usage than any seriously-held beliefs. According to a 2006 issue of Metal Hammer magazine, they are the most successful British heavy metal band since Iron Maiden. V Empire or Dark Faerytales in Phallustein is Cradle of Filth's second official release, following The Principle of Evil Made Flesh. It was the band's final release for Cacophonous Records, and was hastily written and recorded for that label as a contractual obligation, before the band jumped ship to Music for Nations. As such, it is the first of two releases from 1996, the other being Dusk... and Her Embrace. Despite the circumstances in which it was written and recorded, it was well received by critics and a handful of its tracks are staples of the band's live sets to this day.

01 - Ebony Dressed For Sunset
02 - The Forest Whispers My Name
03 - Queen Of Winter, Throned
04 - Nocturnal Supremacy
05 - She Mourns In A Lengthening Shadow
06 - The Rape And Ruin Of Angels


Cradle Of Filth - 1998 - Cruelty And The Beast (Celtic Cross Version)

Cruelty and the Beast is the third studio album by English extreme metal band Cradle of Filth. It is a concept album based on the legend of the Hungarian "blood countess" Elizabeth Báthory. The album features guest narration on certain passages by Ingrid Pitt in character as Báthory; a role she first played in the Hammer film Countess Dracula in 1971.  Orchestral and symphonic keyboard elements are given even more emphasis than previously, giving the music a darker and more dramatic feel. The album was well received on its release. The track "Cruelty Brought thee Orchids" has remained a staple of the band's live setlist since the album's release. The Album ranked tenth in a Kerrang! top ten "Essential Black Metal" albums list.

01 - Once Upon Atrocity
02 - Thirteen Autumns And A Widow
03 - Cruely Brought Thee Orchids
04 - Beneath The Howling Stars
05 - Venus In Fear
06 - Desire In Violent Overture
07 - The Twisted Nails Of Faith
08 - Bathory Aria
09 - Lustmord And Wargasm (The Relicking Of Cadaverous Wounds)
10 - Black Metal
11 - Hallowed Be Thy Name (Shallow Be My Grave)
12 - Sodomy And Lust
13 - Twisting Further Nails (The Cruci-Fiction Mix)

Category: Metal | Views: 1423 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  September 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0