Monday, 2024-07-22, 10:55 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » September » 30 » Blues Magoos - 1969-70 - Never Goin' Back To Georgia & Gulf Coast Bound
2:50 AM
Blues Magoos - 1969-70 - Never Goin' Back To Georgia & Gulf Coast Bound
Blues Magoos - 1969 - Never Goin' Back To Georgia

The Blues Magoos was a rock music group from the Bronx, New York. They were at the forefront of the psychedelic music trend, beginning as early as 1966. The band was formed in 1964 as "The Trenchcoats". The original members were Emil "Peppy" Thielhelm aka Peppy Castro (vocals and guitar), Dennis LePore (lead guitar), Ralph Scala (organ and vocals), Ronnie Gilbert (bass) and John Finnegan (drums). The band made a name for itself in various clubs in Greenwich Village. By 1966 the band had changed its name to fit in with the psychedelic vibe of the times - they first changed their name to the Bloos Magoos, though they changed that to the more conventional Blues Magoos. They also made some line-up changes, bringing in Mike Esposito as lead guitarist, and Geoff Daking as drummer. After a good debut, either of the two albums released after Psychedelic Lollipop, Electric Comic Book and Basic Blues Magoos, had much success. By 1968, the band was discouraged and they split up. The group's management had other plans. The band was signed to ABC Records, but most of the members did not go along with this plan. Only Castro agreed and started up a revamped Blues Magoos, with Eric Kaz, Richie Dickon, John Leillo and Roger Eaton. In 1969, the Castro-led band completed Never Goin' Back To Georgia, but that release did not attract public attention either. Eaton left the band, and the other Blues Magoos used session musicians for the follow up Gulf Coast Bound. It did poorly as well and though the Magoos struggled for another two years, they eventually parted ways.

01 - Heartbreak Hotel
02 - Heart Attack
03 - The Hunter
04 - Feelin' Time
05 - Gettin' Off
06 - Never Goin' Back To Georgia
07 - Brokedown Piece Of Man
08 - Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
09 - Georgia Breakdown


Blues Magoos - 1970 - Gulf Coast Bound

Gulf Coast Bound from 1970 is the final release of the band. In July 2008, the Blues Magoos with original members Ralph Scala, Castro and Geoff Daking reunited for the first time in years for two concerts, including one with The Zombies at the Fillmore New York at Irving Plaza in New York City. In December 2009 they traveled to Spain for the Purple Weekend festival.

01 - Gulf Coast Bound
02 - Slow Down Sundown
03 - Can't Get Enough Of You
04 - Magoos Blues
05 - Tonight The Skies About To Cry
06 - Sea Breeze Express

Category: Oldies | Views: 2192 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  September 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0