Saturday, 2024-07-13, 0:07 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » February » 02

The Hollies are an English pop and rock group, formed in Manchester in the early 1960s, though most of the band members are from throughout East Lancashire. Known for their distinctive vocal harmony style, they became one of the leading British groups of the 1960s and 1970s. They enjoyed considerable popularity in many countries, although they did not achieve major US chart success until 1966. Along with The Rolling Stones and The Searchers, they are one of the few British pop groups of the early 1960s that have never officially broken up and that continue to record and perform. The Hollies were inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010. The original lineup included Allan Clarke as lead vocalist, Graham Nash as guitarist and vocalist, Vic Steele on guitar, with Eric Haydock on bass guitar and Don Rathbone on drums. Steele left in April 1963, shortly before they signed to Parlophone as label-mates of The Beatles. Tony Hicks, who replaced Steele, and Bobby Elliott, who replaced Don Rathbone, joined the band in quick succession in 1963; both had played in a Nelson-based band, The Dolphins. Bernie Calvert, who replaced Haydock in 1966, was also a member of The Dolphins. Graham Nash was replaced in December 1968 by guitarist-singer Terry Sylvester, formerly of The Escorts, a second generation Merseybeat group, and The Swinging Blue Jeans. Hollies Sing Hollies is the second album by The Hollies to feature Terry Sylvester, on rhythm guitar and first to feature Terry Sylvester, compositions as well as an instrumental composition by bassist Bernie Calvert. The U.S. version, titled "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother", included the hit single by the same name, while omitting the tracks "Soldiers Dilemma" and "Marigold: Gloria Swansong". The UK album did not chart, but its U.S. version peaked at #32.

01 - Why Didn´t You Believe
02 - Don´t Give Up Easily
03 - Look At Life
04 - Please Sign Your Letters
05 - My Life Is Over With You
06 - Please Let Me Please
07 - Do You Believe In Love
08 - Soldiers Dilemma
09 - Marigold Gloria Swansong
10 - You Love ´cos You Like It
11 - Reflections Of A Time Long Past
12 - Goodbye Tomorrow

Category: Oldies | Views: 1664 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

Hollies Sing Dylan is a 1969 cover album where the Hollies sing Bob Dylan songs. It was also released in the U.S. as Words and Music by Bob Dylan with a different cover but using the same band image and track order. First released on compact disc in Germany in the late 1980s, it wasn't released in that format in Europe until 1993.

01 - When The Ship Comes In
02 - I´ll Be Your Baby Tonight
03 - I Want You
04 - Wheels On Fire
05 - I Shall Be Released
06 - Blowin´ In The Wind
07 - Quit Your Low Down Ways
08 - Just Like A Woman
09 - The Times They Are A´changin´
10 - All I Really Want To Do
11 - My Back Pages
12 - Mighty Quinn

Category: Oldies | Views: 1683 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

Evolution is the first of two 1967 albums by The Hollies. The album peaked at number 13 in the UK album chart. Like its predecessor, For Certain Because, this album features only songs written by group members Allan Clarke, Graham Nash, and Tony Hicks. None of the songs on the album were selected for single or EP release in the UK. The album cover artwork was created by The Fool, with the psychedelic cover photo by Karl Ferris, who is credited with creating the first truly psychedelic photograph for an album cover.

01 - Then The Heartaches Begin
02 - Stop Right There
03 - Water On The Brain
04 - Lullaby To Tim
05 - Have You Ever Loved Somebody
06 - You Need Love
07 - Rain On The Window
08 - Heading For A Fall
09 - Ye Olde Toffee Shoppe
10 - When Your Light´s Turned On
11 - Leave Me
12 - The Games We Play

Category: Oldies | Views: 1286 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

The U.S. edition of Butterfly, retitled Dear Eloise/King Midas in Reverse, was released via Epic Records on November 27, 1967, with different tracklist.

01 - Dear Eloise
02 - Away Away Away
03 - Maker
04 - Pegasus
05 - Would You Believe
06 - Wishyouawish
07 - Post Card
08 - Charlie & Fred
09 - Try It
10 - Elevated Observations
11 - Step Inside
12 - Butterfly
13 - King Midas In Reverse
14 - Leave Me
15 - Do The Best You Can

Category: Oldies | Views: 1679 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

Butterfly is the second studio album released by The Hollies in 1967, their seventh in England overall. It was also the last new Hollies album to feature Graham Nash until 1983's What Goes Around. This, like its predecessors For Certain Because and Evolution, featured songs written solely by Allan Clarke, Graham Nash, and Tony Hicks. This album was really a Graham Nash-led project, and he featured as lead vocal more than on any prior album.

01 - Dear Eloise
02 - Away, Away, Away
03 - Maker
04 - Pegasus
05 - Would You Believe
06 - Wishyouawish
07 - Postcard
08 - Charlie & Fred
09 - Try It
10 - Elevated Observations
11 - Step Inside
12 - Butterfly

Category: Oldies | Views: 1432 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

Would You Believe? is an album by the Hollies, released in 1966. It features a cover of Simon and Garfunkel's "I Am a Rock," which displayed progression for the band at the time—the rising folk-rock nascent was on the horizon. However, Would You Believe also features a cover of Chuck Berry's "Sweet Little Sixteen" - by 1966, R&B and blues covers were becoming passe. Another sign of growth for the band on Would You Believe includes the Chip Taylor cover "I Can't Let Go," a major hit for the band.

01 - I Take What I Want
02 - Hard, Hard Year
03 - That´s How Strong My Love Is
04 - Sweet Little Sixteen
05 - Oriental Sadness
06 - I Am A Rock
07 - Take Your Time
08 - Don´t You Even Care
09 - Fifi The Flea
10 - Stewball
11 - I´ve Got A Way Of My Own
12 - I Can´t Let Go

Category: Oldies | Views: 1796 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-02

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  February 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0