Saturday, 2024-07-13, 0:48 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » February » 2 » The Hollies - 1969 - Hollies Sing Hollies
3:24 AM
The Hollies - 1969 - Hollies Sing Hollies

The Hollies are an English pop and rock group, formed in Manchester in the early 1960s, though most of the band members are from throughout East Lancashire. Known for their distinctive vocal harmony style, they became one of the leading British groups of the 1960s and 1970s. They enjoyed considerable popularity in many countries, although they did not achieve major US chart success until 1966. Along with The Rolling Stones and The Searchers, they are one of the few British pop groups of the early 1960s that have never officially broken up and that continue to record and perform. The Hollies were inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010. The original lineup included Allan Clarke as lead vocalist, Graham Nash as guitarist and vocalist, Vic Steele on guitar, with Eric Haydock on bass guitar and Don Rathbone on drums. Steele left in April 1963, shortly before they signed to Parlophone as label-mates of The Beatles. Tony Hicks, who replaced Steele, and Bobby Elliott, who replaced Don Rathbone, joined the band in quick succession in 1963; both had played in a Nelson-based band, The Dolphins. Bernie Calvert, who replaced Haydock in 1966, was also a member of The Dolphins. Graham Nash was replaced in December 1968 by guitarist-singer Terry Sylvester, formerly of The Escorts, a second generation Merseybeat group, and The Swinging Blue Jeans. Hollies Sing Hollies is the second album by The Hollies to feature Terry Sylvester, on rhythm guitar and first to feature Terry Sylvester, compositions as well as an instrumental composition by bassist Bernie Calvert. The U.S. version, titled "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother", included the hit single by the same name, while omitting the tracks "Soldiers Dilemma" and "Marigold: Gloria Swansong". The UK album did not chart, but its U.S. version peaked at #32.

01 - Why Didn´t You Believe
02 - Don´t Give Up Easily
03 - Look At Life
04 - Please Sign Your Letters
05 - My Life Is Over With You
06 - Please Let Me Please
07 - Do You Believe In Love
08 - Soldiers Dilemma
09 - Marigold Gloria Swansong
10 - You Love ´cos You Like It
11 - Reflections Of A Time Long Past
12 - Goodbye Tomorrow

Category: Oldies | Views: 1665 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 4.0/1
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  February 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0