Friday, 2024-07-12, 10:37 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » February » 09

Surfin' USA is the second album released by The Beach Boys and was released in early 1963. This was the group's second album to be credited with production from Capitol's Nick Venet, Capitol Records' representative for Artists and Repertoire. Surfin' USA reached #2 in the US, lasting 78 weeks on the albums chart. It reached #17 in the UK in late 1965. Surfin' USA is notable for giving The Beach Boys their first widespread success with its title track, and for Brian Wilson's increasing prowess in songwriting, as well as vocal arrangement. The fuller-sounding vocals were achieved using double tracking, creating The Beach Boys' own unique sound.

01 - Surfin' Usa
02 - Farmer's Daughter
03 - Misirlou
04 - Stoked
05 - Lonely Sea
06 - Shut Down
07 - Noble Surfer
08 - Honky Tonk
09 - Lana
10 - Surf Jam
11 - Let's Go Trippin'
12 - Finders Keepers
13 - Cindy, Oh Cindy (Bonus Track)
14 - The Baker Man (Bonus Track)
15 - Land Ahoy (Bonus Track)

Category: Oldies | Views: 2066 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

A Quick One is the second album by English rock band The Who, released in 1966. American record company executives at Decca Records released the album under the title Happy Jack, rather than the sexually suggestive title of the UK release, and due to "Happy Jack" being a top forty hit in the U.S. "Happy Jack" was not included on the UK version of the album, but instead was released as a non-album single. This is widely regarded by fans to have been a pivotal album for the group, due to the departure from the R&B / pop formula featured on the band's first release. Part of the marketing push for the album was a requirement that each band member should write at least two of the songs on it (although Roger Daltrey only wrote one), so this Who album is the least dominated by Pete Townshend's writing. Bonus tracks in this album (11-20) are from de 1995 extended CD release.

01 - Run Run Run
02 - Boris the Spider
03 - I Need You
04 - Whiskey Man
05 - Heat Wave
06 - Cobwebs And Strange
07 - Don't Look Away
08 - See My Way
09 - So Sad About Us
10 - A Quick One, While He's Away
11 - Bat Man
12 - Bucket T
13 - Barbara Ann
14 - Disguises
15 - Doctor,Doctor
16 - I've Been Away
17 - In the City
18 - Happy Jack
19 - Man With the Money
20 - My Generation-Land of Hope And Glory

Category: Oldies | Views: 1314 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

The Immigrants was a crude Garage Rock band from Kansas. A quintet of students based at Wesleyan University in Salina, Kansas, though they hailed from New Jersey, Brooklyn and Staten Island, New York. They were signed in 1966 by Starburst Recordings and recorded a single in 1966 Walking The Dog / Time To Say Goodbye and reached #175 in local chart. The same year The Immigrants recorded their sole album Immigrants'66,influenced by US Rock 'n' Roll and instrumental groups, plus the British Invasion sounds. The Immigrants released covers of The Animals' House Of The Rising Sun, The Beatles' Run For Your Life, The Zombies' She's Not There, Little Richard's Keep A Knockin',Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller's Kansas City and Chuck Berry's Route 66 and some great originals.(PRR)

01 - I'm Feelin' Blue
02 - If You Need Me
03 - Rueben Rubin
04 - Keep A Knockin'
05 - Sleepwalk
06 - She's Not There
07 - 2-25 Blues
08 - Driving Gutiars
09 - House Of The Rising Sun
10 - Run For Your Life
11 - Chains
12 - Kansas City 66

Category: Oldies | Views: 1631 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

Younger Than Yesterday is the fourth album by the American rock band The Byrds and was released in February 1967 on Columbia Records. The album saw the band continuing to integrate elements of psychedelic rock into their music, a process they had begun on their previous LP. In addition, the album captured the band experimenting with new musical textures, including brass instruments and reverse tape effects. It also marked the emergence of the band's bass player, Chris Hillman, as the group's third songwriter. Two of Hillman's compositions on Younger Than Yesterday exhibited country and western influences and thus, can be seen as early indicators of the country rock direction the band would pursue on their later albums. The title of Younger Than Yesterday is derived from the lyrics of "My Back Pages", a song written by Bob Dylan which was covered on the album. Younger Than Yesterday peaked at #24 on the Billboard Top LPs chart and reached #37 on the UK Albums Chart.

01 - So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
02 - Have You Seen Her Face
03 - C.T.A.-102
04 - Renaissance Fair
05 - Time Between
06 - Everybody's Been Burned
07 - Thoughts And Words
08 - Mind Gardens
09 - My Back Pages
10 - Girl With No Name

Category: Oldies | Views: 1710 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

Straight Shooter is the fifth studio album by James Gang (the second without Joe Walsh), released in 1972, and the final one released on ABC Records. They moved to Atco Records the next year (coincidentally, Walsh would move to a sister label to Atco, Asylum Records, once he left ABC). This album is the last recording featuring guitarist Domenic Troiano, who was replaced by Tommy Bolin. Domenic Troiano: Guitars, vocals, Roy Kenner: Percussion, vocals, Dale Peters: Bass guitar, percussion, vocals, Jim Fox: Drums, percussion, keyboards, vocals and Sheldon Kurland: Violin.

01 - Madness
02 - Kick Back Man
03 - Get Her Back Again
04 - Looking For My Lady
05 - Getting Old
06 - I'll Tell You Why
07 - Hairy Hypochondriac
08 - Let Me Come Home
09 - My Door Is Open

Category: Oldies | Views: 1509 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

The Lemon Fog were a Houston-based quintet that had the distinction of being the first rock act signed to Ray McGinnis' Orbit Records label. They started out in the spring of 1963 as The Bar Eights, formed by Fillmore High School classmates Danny Ogg and Terry Horde, with Timmy Thorpe on bass, and Dale VanDeloo on saxophone and vocals. They were a Rip Chords-type surf band, with a few pop-soul numbers mixed into their sets. The group got a few coffee bar gigs and a sock hop to two to play before they broke up when VanDeloo supposedly attacked Ogg with a mike stand during an argument. Enter Chris Lyons, who was recruiting musicians at Clem's Music in Houston for a new band he was forming. Danny Ogg showed up at the store, and Lyons asked him to join--Ogg agreed on condition that Timmy Thorpe, who had just gotten laid off from work, play bass. Lyons agreed, and by that weekend, The Pla-Boys, as they were known, were playing their first gig, at St. Regis College for the Arts. In 1965, they went from being The Pla-Boys to The Lemon Fog, who quickly became recognized as one of the more formidable bands in Houston.(MZA)

01 - Summer
02 - Echoes Of A Time
03 - Day By Day
04 - The Prisoner
05 - Yes I Cry
06 - Girl From The Wrong Side Of Town
07 - The Living Eye Theme

Category: Oldies | Views: 1422 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-02-09

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  February 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0