Tuesday, 2024-07-16, 11:45 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to freemusic07@gmail.com


Main » 2010 » August » 20 » The Gods - 1970 - To Samuel A Son
2:10 AM
The Gods - 1970 - To Samuel A Son

The Gods were an English group founded in 1965. The bandmembers included Mick Taylor (later with John Mayall's Bluesbreakers and the Rolling Stones), Brian Glascock and John Glascock (later of Jethro Tull). They were schoolmates from Hatfield and had been playing together as The Juniors (or The Strangers), a band they formed in 1962. Also part of this band were Malcolm Collins and Alan Shacklock. They had a record deal with Columbia. Their first 7 single (Columbia DB7339) appeared in 1964. The Gods were the successors of the Rolling Stones at the famous Marquee Club in London. After recording two albums, Genesis (1968) and To Samuel a Son (1969), they signed with a new record company, recruited Rebel Rousers singer Cliff Bennett and changed their name to Toe Fat which also lasted two years and two albums. To Samuel A Son, The Gods' second album is, like their debut, Genesis, early keyboard-based progressive rock with a psychedelic hangover, vaguely tied into a concept about the experiences of the "Samuel" in the title track. It's more varied in tone than their first record, though, and more surprisingly, a little lighter in touch, though you can still hear some of the bluster of keyboardist Ken Hensley's subsequent group, Uriah Heep.

01 - To Samuel A Son
02 - Eight O'clock In The Morning
03 - He's Growing
04 - Sticking Wings On Flies
05 - Lady Lady
06 - Penny Dear
07 - Long Time, Sad Time, Bad Time
08 - Five To Three
09 - Autumn
10 - Yes I Cry
11 - Groozy
12 - Momma I Need
13 - Candlelight
14 - Lovely Anita
15 - Maria

Category: Oldies | Views: 1618 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0