Monday, 2024-07-22, 10:04 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » August » 20 » New York Rock & Roll Ensemble - 1968 - New York Rock & Roll Ensemble
2:38 AM
New York Rock & Roll Ensemble - 1968 - New York Rock & Roll Ensemble

The band was formed by three Juilliard students, Michael Kamen, Marty Fulterman (Mark Snow) and Dorian Rudnytsky, as well as two rock musicians, Brian Corrigan and Clif Nivison. After the new group's first "gig" at a Juilliard Halloween dance in 1967, they were signed by Atlantic Records. Their debut in discography was in 1968 with this self-named album. The New York Rock & Roll Ensemble broke the tradition by using classical music instruments in rock songs and rock instruments in classical pieces. This fusion, daring at the time, impressed legendary conductor Leonard Bernstein so much that he invited the group to appear at one of his Young People's Concerts with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra where they performed their signature song "Brandenburg" which was based on the first movement of Bach's Fifth Brandenburg Concerto. Brandenburg showed the group at their best: starting off with a "straight" rendition of Bach's music (featuring two oboes, guitar and cello); then migrating slowly but surely into a straight rock song all the while continuing to use Bach's original music for its musical base. Soon after the tour supporting their 1972 album Freedomburger, the band dispersed.

01 - Intro
02 - Sounds Of Time
03 - Began To Burn
04 - Monkey
05 - Trio Sonata No. 1 In C Major, 2nd Movement-Alla Breve F
06 - She's Gone
07 - Poor Pauline
08 - Question
09 - Mr. Tree
10 - You Know Just What It's Like
11 - Studeao Atlantis
12 - Pick Up In The Morning
13 - The Seasons (Fall-Winter-Spring-Summer)

Category: Oldies | Views: 1356 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0