Saturday, 2024-07-13, 9:54 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » December » 13 » John's Children - 1966-67 - A Midsummer Night's Scene
2:07 AM
John's Children - 1966-67 - A Midsummer Night's Scene

This band started their career in Surrey and were earlier known as The Few and The Silence. They were discovered by Simon Napier-Bell who once was a manager of The Yardbirds. He brought them to London and they were renamed John's Children by him. Because of their limited muscial ability the band didn't play on the first two singles. The backing tracks were recorded by sessionmen and only Andy Ellisons vocals appear on the 45's. Their first 7-inch "Smashed Blocked" done well in the USA and it reached the Top 100 over there. White Whale offered them a record deal and the result was the eminently forgettable "Orgasm" album. The songs were played live in the studio by the band and overdubbed with screams and shouts from the Beatles movie "A Hard Day's Night". Thankfully their singles were much more better and Bam Caruso compiled back in 1987 (Bam Caruso KIRI 095) all the 45's. And you might know that Marc Bolan was a part-time member and recorded with them two 7-inches ("Desdemona" and "A Midsummer's Night Scene"). All in all a fine mod/pop-art band that will please fans of The Creation, The Eyes, The Who.

01 - Smashed Blocked
02 - Just What You Want - Just What You'll Get
03 - Desdemona
04 - Remember Thomas A'beckett
05 - It's Been A Long Time
06 - Arthur Green
07 - Strange Affair
08 - Midsummer Night's Scene
09 - Sarah Crazy Child
10 - Jagged Time Lapse
11 - Go-Go Girl
12 - Come And Play With Me In The Garden
13 - But She's Mine

Category: Oldies | Views: 1509 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  December 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0