Wednesday, 2024-07-24, 11:09 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » December » 15 » Blind Faith - 1969 - Blind Faith
5:53 PM
Blind Faith - 1969 - Blind Faith

Blind Faith was an English blues-rock band which was one of the first "super-groups", released their only album, Blind Faith, in August 1969. They were stylistically similar to the bands in which Winwood, Baker, and Clapton had most recently participated, Traffic and Cream. Blind Faith is the self-titled album by the band, which consisted of Eric Clapton (The Yardbirds, Cream), Ginger Baker (Graham Bond Organisation, Cream), Steve Winwood (Spencer Davis Group, Traffic) and Ric Grech (Family). There was an intense buzz about the band and its debut album Blind Faith, which on release topped Billboard's Pop Albums chart in America (as it did the UK and Canadian charts) and peaked at #40 on the Black Albums chart, an impressive feat for a British rock quartet. In addition, Rolling Stone published three reviews of the album in their September 6, 1969 issue, which were written by Ed Leimbacher, Lester Bangs, and John Morthland. They began to work out songs early in 1969, and in February and March the group was in London at Morgan Studios, preparing for the beginnings of basic tracks for their album, although the first few almost finished songs didn't show up until they were at Olympic Studios in April and May under the direction of producer Jimmy Miller. The music community was already aware of the linkup, despite Clapton's claim that he was cutting an album of his own on which Winwood would play. The rock press wasn't buying any of it, knowing that Baker was involved as well, and then the promoters and record companies got involved, pushing those concerned for an album and a tour. The recording of their album was interrupted by such a tour of Scandinavia, then a U.S. tour from July 11 (Newport) to August 24 (Hawaii), supported by Free, Taste and Delaney & Bonnie and Friends. Although a chart topper the LP was recorded hurriedly and side two consisted of just two songs, one of them a 15-minute jam entitled "Do What You Like." Nevertheless the band was able to produce two classic hits, Winwood's "Can't Find My Way Home" and Clapton's "Presence of the Lord". An expanded, deluxe edition of the album was released in 2001, with previously unreleased tracks and 'jams' included. Two live tracks from the Hyde Park concert, Sleeping In The Ground by Sam Myers and the Rolling Stones song "Under My Thumb" are also available on Winwood's four-CD retrospective The Finer Things.

01 - Had To Cry Today
02 - Can't Find My Way Home
03 - Well All Right
04 - Presence Of The Lord
05 - Sea Of Joy
06 - Do What You Like
07 - Sleeping In The Ground
08 - Can't Find My Way Home (Electric Version)
09 - Acoustic Jam
10 - Time Winds
11 - Sleeping In The Ground (Slow Blues Version)

Blind Faith - Deluxe Edition  CD 2

01 - Jam No.1 'Very Long & Good Jam'
02 - Jam No.2 'Slow Jam #1'
03 - Jam No.3 'Change of Address Jam'
04 - Jam No.4 'Slow Jam #2'

Category: Oldies | Views: 2013 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  December 2010  »

Total online: 2
Guests: 2
Users: 0