Monday, 2024-04-22, 10:50 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » March » 5 » Country Joe & The Fish - 1967 - Electric Music for the Mind and Body
6:20 PM
Country Joe & The Fish - 1967 - Electric Music for the Mind and Body

Country Joe and the Fish were a rock band most widely known for musical protests against the Vietnam War, from 1966 to 1971, and also regarded as a seminal influence to psychedelic rock. The group began with the nucleus of "Country Joe" McDonald (lead vocals) and Barry "The Fish" Melton (lead guitar), recording and performing for the "Teach-in" protests against the Vietnam War in 1965. Co-founders McDonald and Melton added musicians as needed over the life of the band. By 1967, the group included Gary "Chicken" Hirsh (drums); David Cohen (keyboards) and Bruce Barthol (bass). The 1967 lineup lasted only two years, and by the 1969 Woodstock Festival, the lineup included Greg 'Duke' Dewey (drums), Mark Kapner (keyboards) and Doug Metzler (bass). Electric Music For The Mind And Body, Country Joe and the Fish's debut album, was one of the first psychedelic albums to come out of San Francisco. Tracks from the LP, especially "Section 43", "Grace", and "Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine" were played on progressive FM rock stations like KSAN and KMPX in San Francisco, often back-to-back. A famous version of the song "Love" was performed at the 1969 Woodstock Festival. "Grace" is a tribute to Jefferson Airplane's lead singer, Grace Slick.

01 - Flying High
02 - Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
03 - Death Sound
04 - Porpoise Mouth
05 - Section 43
06 - Superbird
07 - Sad And Lonely Times
08 - Love
09 - Bass Strings
10 - The Masked Marauder
11 - Grace

Category: Oldies | Views: 1324 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  March 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0