Saturday, 2024-05-25, 2:45 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » March » 04

Yusuf Islam (Steven Demetre Georgiou, in Marylebone, London, England),originally and commonly known by his former stage name Cat Stevens, is an English musician, singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, educator and philanthropist. His early 1970s record albums Tea for the Tillerman and Teaser and the Firecat were both certified as Triple Platinum by the RIAA in the United States. Teaser and the Firecat is an album released by Cat Stevens in 1971. It contains 10 songs including hits such as "Morning Has Broken," "Moonshadow," and "Peace Train." It is also the title of a children's book written and illustrated by Cat Stevens. The story features the title characters from the album cover, top-hatted young Teaser and his pet Firecat, who attempt to put the moon back in its place after it falls from the sky. Published in 1972, the book has been out of print since the mid-1970s. The album was a commercial success, surpassing the heights achieved by Stevens' previous album, Tea for the Tillerman, reaching both the UK and US Top 3 and also spending an impressive fifteen weeks at the top of the Australian charts, becoming the biggest-selling album of the country in 1972.

01 - The Wind
02 - Rubylove
03 - If I Laugh
04 - Changes Iv
05 - How Can I Tell You
06 - Tuesday's Dead
07 - Morning Has Broken
08 - Bitterblue
09 - Moonshadow
10 - Peace Train

Category: Oldies | Views: 1455 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

Glenn Douglas Barnard Cornick was the bespectacled, first bass guitar player in the progressive rock band, Jethro Tull. Cornick played bass in a number of bands before joining Jethro Tull, including Jailbreakers, The Vikings, Formula One, The Hobos, The Executives, and John Evan's Smash, and was one of Tull's founding members. He separated from the band in 1970, after their third album, Benefit. After leaving Jethro Tull, Cornick formed Wild Turkey in 1971, initially with: Graham Williams (guitar), Alan 'Tweke' Lewis (guitar), John "Pugwash" Weathers (ex Pete Brown & Piblokto!) (drums) and Gary Pickford-Hopkins (ex Eyes of Blue) on vocals; but Weathers and Williams left to join Graham Bond's Magick before Wild Turkey recorded any material. They were replaced by Jon Blackmore (guitar and vocals) and Jeff Jones (ex Man) (drums) who joined Cornick, Tweke and Gary to record Wild Turkey's first album Battle Hymn. The album was promoted on UK and US tours supporting Black Sabbath; Tony Iommi having briefly played with Cornick in Jethro Tull. In 1972 Mick Dyche replaced Jon Blackmore, Steve Gurl joined on keyboards and the band recorded their second album Turkey. Early in 1974, Lewis left to join Man and Wild Turkey continued with one guitar player until Bernie Marsden joined. Kevin Currie then replaced Jones on drums, and three new tracks appeared on a four disc sampler Don't Dare to Forget. When Pickford-Hopkins left to join Rick Wakeman, it was decided to disband Wild Turkey, in June 1974.

01 - Good Old Days
02 - Tomorrow's Friend
03 - A Universal Man
04 - Eternal Mother - The Return
05 - Ballad Of Chuck Stallion And The Mustangs
06 - The Street
07 - See You Next Tuesday
08 - Telephone
09 - Soldier Airplay (Bonus Live)
10 - Brother (Bonus Live)
11 - Social World (Bonus Live)

Category: Oldies | Views: 1660 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

Roland Kent Lavoie, better known by the stage name Lobo, is an American Pop/Country/Folk singer-songwriter who was successful in the early 1970s, scoring several U.S. Top 10 hits, including "Me and You and a Dog Named Boo", "I'd Love You to Want Me" and "Don't Expect Me to Be Your Friend". With the release of Calumet in 1973, Lobo had three Top 40 hits: "It Sure Took a Long, Long Time," "How Can I Tell Her" and "Standing at the End of the Line." He made an appearance on American Bandstand that year. There were two further minor hit singles from the album, "There Ain't No Way" and in 1975 "Standing At The End Of The Line".

01 - How Can I Tell Her
02 - Stoney
03 - Rock & Roll Days
04 - One And The Same Thing
05 - Hope You're Proud Of Me Girl
06 - Goodbye Is Just Another Word
07 - Love Me For What I Am
08 - Try
09 - It Sure Took A Long, Long Time
10 - Standing At The End Of The Line

Category: Oldies | Views: 2085 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

A California group managed and produced by Andy Di Martino, the man responsible for some of the later albums by Captain Beefheart and for discovering The Cascades (Rhythm Of The Rain. Their music was a very decent mix of West Coast sounds, white soul and country, with good male/female vocals and often brilliant guitar parts. Durham, Smotherman and Dub Campbell wrote most of their material. Their albums may interest fans of Stoneground and Bodacious D.F.When the group broke up, Smotherman and Smith went on to play with Captain Beefheart on Blue Jeans And Moonbeams. Smotherman later had a solo career. In 1981 Debbie Campbell reappeared briefly with Rockin' Jimmy and The Brothers Of The Night. Dub Campbell guitar, electric violin, vocals, Mark Durham bass, Randy James guitar, Michael "Bucky" Smotherman lead vocals, keyboards, Debbie Campbell lead vocals, Rick Gilbert drums, Sonny Ray drums and Dean Smith guitar, vocals.

01 - Movin' On (Part 1)
02 - Simple Song Of Freedom
03 - Does Anybody Care
04 - Good Book
05 - I'm Goin' Home
06 - A Song For Billy
07 - The Gunfigther
08 - Indian Song
09 - Crazy Songs And Looney Tunes
10 - Movin' On (Part 2)

Category: Oldies | Views: 2196 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

Robert Cabot "Bobby" Sherman, Jr., is an American singer, actor and occasional songwriter, who became a popular teen idol in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Sherman was born in Santa Monica, California. He graduated in 1961 from Birmingham High School in Van Nuys in the San Fernando Valley and received his vocal training from Georgia Massey's School of Song and Dance, also located in the San Fernando Valley. Sherman first became famous as a house singer on the ABC television series Shindig! from 1964 to 1966.In 1969, his first gold single, "Little Woman", became popular, peaking at #3 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart (#2 in Canada) and spending nine weeks in the Top 20. It sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in October 1969. His other hits were "Julie (Do Ya Love Me)" (US #5) (Canada #3) (Australia #3), "Easy Come, Easy Go" (US #9) (Canada #6), "Jennifer" (US #60) (Canada #32), "La, La, La" (US #9) (Canada #7), and "The Drum" (US #29) (Canada #7).

01 - Little Woman
02 - La La La (If I Had You)
03 - Waiting At The Bus Stop
04 - Easy Come Easy Go
05 - Julie Do You Love Me
06 - Hey, Mister Sun
07 - Jennifer
08 - Seattle
09 - Cried Like A Baby
10 - Spend Some Time Lovin' Me
11 - The Drum
12 - Gettting Together

Category: Oldies | Views: 1828 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

Swamp rock band from Louisiana. Swamp fuzz rock, harmonica. Heavy southern rock boogie sound. "Louisiana's answer to punk rock". No more info about the band, really a mega rarity, but a very good forgotten work.

01 - Backwoods Boogie
02 - Iggi Diggi Di
03 - Wag My Tail
04 - I'm A Lover
05 - The Betail
06 - Blackbird
07 - Pennie Piney Moe
08 - Nobody Like You
09 - Funky Fever

Category: Oldies | Views: 1707 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-03-04

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  March 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0