Friday, 2024-07-12, 10:39 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » April » 01

The Moody Blues are an English rock band. Among their innovations was a fusion with classical music, most notably in their 1967 album Days of Future Passed. The Moody Blues have sold in excess of 70 million albums worldwide and have been awarded 14 platinum and gold discs. As of 2011 they remain active with one member from the original band from 1964 and two more from the 1967 lineup. This Is The Moody Blues is a two LP (later two CDs) compilation album, released in late 1974 while the band was on a self-imposed sabbatical. Though all of the songs were previously released on albums (with the exception of "A Simple Game" which was a 1968 B-side), several of them are heard here in distinctly different mixes. This Is The Moody Blues was a commercial and critical success, reaching #14 in the UK and #11 in the U.S. before 1974 was out.

Disc 1

01 - Question
02 - The Actor
03 - The Word
04 - Eyes Of A Child
05 - Dear Diary
06 - Legend Of A Mind
07 - In The Beginning
08 - Lovely To See You
09 - Never Comes The Day
10 - Isn't Life Strange
11 - The Dream
12 - Have You Heard  (Part 1)
13 - The Voyage
14 - Have You Heard  (Part 2)

Disc 2

01 - Ride My See Saw
02 - Tuesday Afternoon
03 - And The Tide Rushes In
04 - New Horizons
05 - A Simple Game
06 - Watching And Waiting
07 - I'm Just A Singer (In A Rock And Roll Band)
08 - For My Lady
09 - The Story In Your Eyes
10 - Melancholy Man
11 - Nights In White Satin
12 - Late Lament

Category: Oldies | Views: 1329 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Love Affair were a London based pop, soul, R&B group formed in 1966. They had several UK Singles Chart Top 10 hits, including the number one success "Everlasting Love". Steve Ellis - (vocals), Rex Brayley - (guitar), Lynton Guest - (keyboards 1967 to 1968), Morgan Fisher - (keyboardist from 1968 to 1971), Maurice Bacon - (drummer), Mick Jackson - (bass). Love Affair sold more singles in 1968 in the UK than any other band, except for The Beatles. At the end of that year, they released the album Everlasting Love Affair, the debut album of the band.

01 - Ever Lasting Love
02 - Hush
03 - 60 Minutes (Of Your Love)
04 - Could I Be Dreaming
05 - The First Cut Is The Deepest
06 - So Sorry
07 - A Day Without Love
08 - Tobacco Road
09 - The Tree
10 - Handbags And Gladrags
11 - Build On Love
12 - Please Stay

Category: Oldies | Views: 1882 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Rhinoceros was a rock band established in 1967 by Elektra Records as that label's intended supergroup. The band, while well-respected in many circles, did not live up to the record label's expectations. As one reviewer commented, "Despite the fact that the band could not live up to the expectations that were raised by Elektra Records' publicity machine, Rhinoceros' contributions to rock still deserve more credit than subsequent rock histories give it. Rhinoceros was conceived in August 1967 by Elektra Records producers Frazier Mohawk (Barry Friedman) and Paul Rothchild as a means to create a 'Supergroup' similar to Mohawk's earlier co-creation, Buffalo Springfield, with Stephen Stills. The duo had a short list of potential enlistees including guitarist Doug Hastings (ex-Buffalo Springfield/Daily Flash). In September 1967 the first formal meeting of 12 potential players took place at Mohawk's Laurel Canyon home. Hastings was present as was his former Daily Flash associate and drummer John Keliehor, bassist Kerry Magness (ex-Kingsmen), pianist/singer/songwriter Alan Gerber, and guitarist Danny Kortchmar. However, neither Rothchild nor Mohawk were content with this line-up and continued their search. In November 1967 Mohawk and Rothchild held a second meeting with nearly 20 players in attendance at a Los Angeles motel and from this meeting decide to run with Gerber and Hastings plus guitarist Danny Weis (ex-Iron Butterfly) and singer John Finley (ex-Jon And Lee And The Checkmates). As the fall progresses Weis recommends his former Iron Butterfly bandmate Jerry 'The Bear' Penrod as bassist, while Finley calls on his old keyboardist from Jon & Lee Michael Fonfara to round out the line-up. Better Times Are Coming, their third and last album, appeared in 1970.

01 - Better Times
02 - Old Age
03 - Sweet, Nice 'n' High
04 - Just Me
05 - Happiness
06 - Somewhere
07 - It's A Groovy World
08 - Insanity
09 - Lady Of Fortune
10 - Let's Party
11 - Rain Child

Category: Oldies | Views: 1519 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Kaleidoscope’s fourth and final album (as a band), Bernice, featured more electric guitar work than the earlier albums, and more country influence. There were further personnel changes, adding singer-guitarist Jeff Kaplan, and bassist Ron Johnston who replaced Brotman during the making of the album. Feldthouse also left the group. At the end of 1969, Kaleidoscope contributed two new songs ("Brother Mary" and "Mickey's Tune") to Michelangelo Antonioni's Zabriskie Point, and supported Cream on their American farewell tour. The band split up soon afterwards.

01 - Chocolate Whale
02 - Another Lover
03 - Sneakin' Thru The Ghetto
04 - To Know Is Not To Be
05 - Lulu Arfin Nanny
06 - Lie & Hide
07 - Ballad Of Tommy Udo
08 - Bernie
09 - Soft & Easy
10 - New Blue Ooze

Category: Oldies | Views: 2087 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Ellison was an English Canadian Band from Montreal Quebec. The band was originally formed in 1967 as "Jimmy Peace", around the talents of vocalist / guitarist Vincent Marandola and bass player Richard Arcand. In 1969, drummer Robert Cager and guitarist Christian Tremblay joined and the name was changed to Ellison. In 1971 the band released an excellent hard rock styled album on the independent and highly collectable Trans-World label. Mainly selling in the province of Quebec and Ontario, the album had only a limited release and quickly disappeared as did the band itself. The self titled album featured seven original songs that have been described as brash, loud, hard rock with straight from the heart vocal work. Great fuzzed-out guitars, echoey vocals, hard-driving drums, and fine bass guitar make this a must for early 70's pscyh rock!! (PRB).

01 - Unchanged World
02 - Seal A Beam Bow
03 - Satanic
04 - Winter Slutch
05 - Strawberry Pain
06 - Untruth Story
07 - Freedom

Category: Oldies | Views: 1690 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Pretty neat stuff for a bunch of guys from Dallas. Very psychedelic with a little Canterbury thrown in! And some Beatle-ish sounding horns, musically likened to Buffalo Springfield. Released by ATCO in 1969

01 -  To Be
02 -  Where Have I Been
03 -  Sunrise #7
04 -  Just Try
05 -  Sparkle
06 -  Green
07 -  Footprints In The Snow
08 -  At The Time
09 -  Rcmpb
10 -  Don't
11 -  Have You Ever

Category: Oldies | Views: 1429 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2011-04-01

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  April 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0