Saturday, 2024-05-25, 1:18 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » July » 31

The Flying Burrito Brothers was an early country rock band, best known for its influential debut album, 1969's The Gilded Palace of Sin. Although the group is most often mentioned in connection with country rock legends Gram Parsons and Chris Hillman, the group underwent many personnel changes. After the release of The Byrds' groundbreaking Sweetheart of the Rodeo, Gram Parsons left The Byrds on the eve of a South African tour. Chris Hillman, the group's bass player, soon left as well and eventually joined Parsons in a new band, The Flying Burrito Brothers, as guitarist. Their first album as The Flying Burrito Brothers was The Gilded Palace of Sin. Most of the songs were written by Parsons and Hillman at a house in the San Fernando Valley dubbed "Burrito Manor."

01 - Christine's Tune
02 - Sin City
03 - Do Right Woman
04 - Dark End Of The Street
05 - My Uncle
06 - Wheels
07 - Juanita
08 - Hot Burrito No. 1
09 - Hot Burrito No. 2
10 - Do You Know How It Feels
11 - Hippie Boy

Category: Oldies | Views: 1570 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

Pretzel Logic is the third studio album by the American jazz-rock band Steely Dan, originally released in 1974. The album's opening song, "Rikki Don't Lose That Number", became the band's biggest hit, reaching #4 on the charts soon after the release of the album. The album itself went gold, and then platinum, reaching #8 on the charts. The album was also highly regarded critically, appearing near the top of several end-of-year polls including the number one slot on Album of the Year and the number two spot on both Robert Christgau and the Village Voice end-of-year lists.

01 - Rikki Don't Lose That Number
02 - Night By Night
03 - Any Major Dude Will Tell You
04 - Barrytown
05 - East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
06 - Parker's Band
07 - Through With Buzz
08 - Pretzel Logic
09 - With A Gun
10 - Charlie Freak
11 - Monkey In Your Soul

Category: Oldies | Views: 1345 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

Van Dyke Parks is an American composer, arranger, producer, musician, singer, and actor. He has worked with performers including Grace Kelly, Delaney Bramlett, The Beach Boys, The Byrds, Loudon Wainwright III, Silverchair, Ry Cooder, Joanna Newsom, Inara George and Ringo Starr. Discover America is a 1972 album, featuring Parks' take on Calypso music (notably through the inclusion of performers The Esso Trinidad "Tripoli" Steelband). Lyrical themes run a wide range of American History, from John Jones, to early 20th century musicians Bing Crosby and The Mills Brothers, actor Jack Palance, and political figures Franklin Roosevelt and J. Edgar Hoover.

01 - Jack Palance
02 - Introduction
03 - Bing Crosby
04 - Steelband Music
05 - The Four Mills Brothers
06 - Be Careful
07 - John Jones
08 - Fdr In Trinidad
09 - Sweet Trinidad
10 - Occapella
11 - Sailin' Shoes
12 - Riverboat
13 - Ode To Tobago
14 - Your Own Comes First
16 - Stars And Stripes Forever
17 - G-Man Hoover

Category: Oldies | Views: 1506 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

The Least We Can Do Is Wave to Each Other is the second album by Van der Graaf Generator. It was released in 1970. The album was reissued in re-mastered form, with two bonus tracks, in 2005. While this is the second album in the Van der Graaf Generator catalogue, it is really the first proper album by the band. Their previous album, The Aerosol Grey Machine had been written and recorded as a solo record by singer and main songwriter Peter Hammill, but due to a deal with the record company, was released under the Van der Graaf Generator name. The Least We Can Do Is Wave to Each Other was recorded at Trident Studios, London, 11-14 December 1969.

01 - Darkness
02 - Refugees
03 - White Hammer
04 - Whatever Would Robert Have Said-
05 - Out of my Book
06 - After the Flood

Category: Oldies | Views: 1372 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

War (originally called Eric Burdon and War) is an American funk band from California, known for the hit songs "Low Rider", "Spill the Wine", "The Cisco Kid" and "Why Can't We Be Friends?". Formed in 1969, War was a musical crossover band which fused elements of rock, funk, jazz, Latin American music, rhythm and blues, and reggae. The band also transcended racial and cultural barriers with a multi-ethnic line-up. The band has sold over 50 million records to date. All Day Music is an album released November 1971 on United Artists Records. The original cover art was printed with a metallic silver background, and features a group photo by Bob Gordon.

01 - All Day Music
02 - Get Down
03 - That's What Love Will Do
04 - There Must Be A Reason
05 - Nappy Head (Theme from Ghetto Man)
06 - Slippin' Into Darkness
07 - Baby Brother

Category: Oldies | Views: 1495 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

A Southern Gospel Rock band with Bryant Sterling (aka Denis Bryant) (vocals), Jeff Pocoro (drums), Tommy Shaw (lead guitar), and Jacob Stokes (bass). The Jesus movement and the whole hippie thing crossed paths on this excellent big-label Shelby Singleton production featuring bluesy soul-soaked hard rock covers of gospel standards like ‘Peace In The Valley’, ‘Will The Circle Be Unbroken’, ‘Down By The Riverside’, ‘Ride On King Jesus’, ‘Swing Low Sweet Chariot’ and Edwin Hawkins’ ‘Ain’t It Like Him’.

01 - Ain't It Like Him
02 - Peace In The Valley
03 - Will The Circle Be Unbroken
04 - Down By The Riverside
05 - Ride On King Jesus
06 - Swing Low Sweet Chariot

Category: Oldies | Views: 1459 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-31

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  July 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0