Monday, 2024-07-15, 10:17 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » July » 16

Haymarket Square was a Chicago-based psychedelic rock band in the late sixities. The band's name is a reference to the 1886 Haymarket Square Riot, in which eight policemen were killed and seven workers sentenced to death. The album, Magic Lantern (originally issued in 1968) was a major hit, and is well considered by fans of psychedelic rock music even today. The music of the album was used to accompany the original Baron and Bailey Light Circus in the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago. The album was reissued by Gear Fab Records in 2001. Gloria Lambert -Vocal, Marc Swenson -Guitar, Vocal, Robert (Bob) Homa -Bass, vocal, John Kowalski- Percussion.

01 - Elevator
02 - The Train Kept A-Rollin'
03 - Ahimsa
04 - Amapola
05 - Phantasmagoria
06 - Funeral

Category: Oldies | Views: 1518 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

Though this obscure 1970 LP falls into the general folk-psych-rock category, its focus is so all-over-the-place that it's hard to get a read on it. The group are British, but at times the record seems very influenced by the poppiest side of American folk-rock, particularly in the blends of male and female vocal harmonies, which are extremely reminiscent of the Mamas & the Papas' approach in places. Yet there are also songs that have a more specifically British, gentle reserved acoustic quality; a character portrait of "Mr. Jones" with a whimsical British feel; and occasional off-the-wall burning fuzzy psychedelic guitar. At its most mature, it's slightly similar to, if an obscure reference point is allowed, the folk-prog-rock recordings that Giles, Giles & Fripp made as they were morphing into King Crimson (though not nearly as inspired). At its sappiest and most cooing, it could almost pass for a Californian sunshine pop recording. What the songs lack, however, are memorable choruses, or much cohesion between the parts, although the individual parts (especially the female vocalists' contributions) are often pretty. File under the section with the many stylistically confused rock bands of the period who had some talent and tried hard to say something important, but didn't quite have the goods.(OoD)

01 - Flying - Love you more than it's good for me to - Nostrils
02 - She brings the morning with her
03 - Back to Boulder
04 - Traveller
05 - See saw
06 - Mini splurge - Mr. Jones - Is that good that's nice
07 - Clocks - Hey I used to know you
08 - Unknown journey
09 - Leave me be
10 - Clown

Category: Oldies | Views: 1468 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

McGuinness Flint was a rock band formed in 1970 by Tom McGuinness, former bassist and guitarist  with Manfred Mann, and Hughie Flint, former drummer with John Mayall; plus vocalist and keyboard player Dennis Coulson, and multi-instrumentalists and songwriters  Benny Gallagher and Graham Lyle. With a varying subsequent line-up, "they earned a loyal following in Britain, but in the United States they were scarcely more than a cult act, despite a top-flight lineup and a sound that should have been a natural for the era".  After a succession of excellent albums, the band eventually split in 1975. Between 1970 & 1971, McGuinness Flint recorded several sessions for BBC Radio 1. The best of these are Malt & Barley Blues, compiled by Tom McGuinness in 2002.

01 - Lazy Afternoon
02 - Bodang Buck
03 - Mister Mister
04 - Heritage
05 - Letting You Know
06 - Let It Ride
07 - Dream, Darling Dream
08 - When I'm Dead And Gone
09 - Brother Psycho
10 - Who You Got To Love
11 - International
12 - Malt And Barley Blues
13 - Rock On

Category: Oldies | Views: 1626 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

In 1968, Canterbury Glass recorded six tracks in London for an album that went unreleased at the time, the group disbanding after interest from a couple record labels fell through. Nearly 40 years later, many of the tapes were rediscovered and issued on this CD. Valerie Watson - Vocals, Flute, Harmonica, Malcolm Ironton - Guitar, Vocal, Mike Hall - Keyboards, Guitar, Tony Proto - Bass, Vocal, David Dowle - Drums, Steve Hackett - Guitar. This was Steve Hackett's (Genesis) first band.

01 - Kyrie
02 - Nunc Dimittis
03 - Gloria
04 - Prologue
05 - We`re Going To Beat It

Category: Oldies | Views: 1436 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

Joy of Cooking was an American folk-rock band, formed in 1967 in Berkeley, California. It was unusual in that it was led by two women - pianist Toni Brown and guitarist Terry Garthwaite (also known as Ruby Green). The rest of the band consisted of bass guitarist David Garthwaite (Terry's Brother), drummer Fritz Kasten and percussion player Ron Wilson. Keyboard player Stevie Roseman replaced Toni Brown for a time and bass players Happy Smith and eventually Jeff Neighbor replaced David Garthwaite on bass guitar. The music was a mix of "hippy" sensibility on blues and folk roots, and the lyrics often reflected feminist  or environmental themes. Joy of Cooking recorded three albums with Capitol Records, this is the 1971 debut album

01 - Hush
02 - Too Late, But Not Forgotten
03 - Down My Dream
04 - If Some God (Sometimes You Gotta Go Home)
05 - Did You Go Downtown
06 - Dancing Couple
07 - Brownsville Mockingbird
08 - Red Wine At Noon
09 - Only Time Will Tell Me
10 - Children's House

Category: Oldies | Views: 1592 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

Dion & the Belmonts was a leading American  vocal group of the late 1950s. The group formed when Dion DiMucci, lead singer, joined The Belmonts: Carlo Mastrangelo, baritone, Freddie Milano, second tenor,  and Angelo D'Aleo, first tenor, in late 1957. After an unsuccessful first single, the group was signed to Laurie Records. Their breakthrough came when "I Wonder Why" reached No. 22 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, and the group appeared for the first time on American Bandstand. They followed it with the ballads "No One Knows" (No. 19) and "Don’t Pity Me" (No. 40). This success won Dion and the Belmonts their first major tour in late 1958, with The Coasters, Buddy Holly and Bobby Darin, and this was followed up by the "Winter Dance Party" tour with Holly, Ritchie Valens and The Big Bopper. On 2 February 1959, after playing at the Surf Ballroom, Dion decided that he could not afford the $36 cost of a flight to the next venue. The plane crashed; Holly, Valens, The Big Bopper, and the pilot were killed on 3 February 1959, shortly after midnight. However, the tour continued, with Jimmy Clanton and Bobby Vee being added to the bill as replacements. In October 1960, Dion decided to quit for a solo career. The Belmonts also continued to release records, but with less success.

01 - A Teenager In Love
02 - Runaround Sue
03 - I Wonder Why
04 - The Wanderer
05 - Where Or When
06 - A Lover's Prayer
07 - Lovers Who Wander
08 - No One Knows
09 - When You Wish Upon A Star
10 - Lonely Teenager
11 - Little Diana
12 - Love Came To Me
13 - Sandy
14 - The Majestic
15 - In The Still Of The Night
16 - Don't Pity Me
17 - (I Was) Born To Cry
18 - Every Little Thing I Do

Category: Oldies | Views: 1567 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-07-16

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  July 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0