Tuesday, 2024-07-16, 9:29 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to freemusic07@gmail.com


Main » 2010 » October » 25 » The Silkie - 1966 - You've Got to Hide Your Love Away
1:33 AM
The Silkie - 1966 - You've Got to Hide Your Love Away

The Silkie were an English folk music group. Their name derived from an Orcadian song The Great Silkie of Sule Skerry, which they sometimes performed. They were briefly considered to be the English equivalent of Peter, Paul and Mary, with their common repertoire of Bob Dylan songs, and the original Australian folk group, The Seekers. The original quartet were Hull University  students and consisted of Sylvia Tatler (vocals), Mike Ramsden (guitar and vocals), Ivor Aylesbury (guitar and vocals) and Kevin Cunningham (double bass). The group received help from John Lennon, Paul McCartney and George Harrison to record their cover version of "You've Got to Hide Your Love Away" on 9 August 1965 at the IBC Studios at about the same time as The Beatles' own version was being released on their album Help! The song charted in the UK at # 28 and also reached # 10 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in the same year. John Lennon produced while Paul McCartney played the guitar and George Harrison kept time by tapping his guitar and also playing the tambourine. When the recording was completed, Lennon was so pleased with it that he rang Brian Epstein, played it over the phone to him, and told him that they had just recorded a Number 1 hit. The Silkie had been scheduled to tour the United States in December 1965 and had even been booked to appear on both the Ed Sullivan Show and American Bandstand, but were unable to obtain the necessary visas and work permits so the tour was subsequently cancelled. Two further singles released in 1966 failed to make the UK or U.S. charts and The Silkie finally split up.

01 - You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
02 - The Times They Are A-Changin'
03 - Mr. Tambourine Man
04 - Close The Door Gently
05 - Bob Dylan' Dream
06 - Girl Of The North Country
07 - Blowin' In The Wind
08 - Blood Red River
09 - Love Minus Zero-No Limit
10 - It Ain't Me, Babe
11 - Tomorrow Is A Long Time
12 - City Winds
13 - Leave Me To Cry
14 - Keys To My Soul
15 - Born To Be With You
16 - I'm So Sorry

Category: Oldies | Views: 1487 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  October 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0