Wednesday, 2024-07-24, 12:17 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » October » 30 » The Rolling Stones - 1961-64 - How Britain Got The Blues
6:34 AM
The Rolling Stones - 1961-64 - How Britain Got The Blues

Although the kind of Rolling Stones fan who buys this will almost inevitably already have a good portion of the music on other bootlegs, this CD boot is a good compilation of obscure 1961-1964 recordings, mostly taken from 1964 BBC sessions. Twenty-four of these 32 cuts come from such BBC sources, but what will pique the hardcore Stones aficionado's interest the most are the first eight tracks, which have rarely if ever before surfaced. The first four songs are labeled as dating from a tape of Little Boys Blue, a just-pre-Rolling Stones lineup of the group, recorded (probably at a private rehearsal) in late 1961. Dick Taylor (later of the Pretty Things), guitarist Bob Beckwith, and Allen Etherington (on maracas) were also part of Little Boys Blue on this recording, according to the cover. While the track listings are vague as to what actual future members of the Stones also participated, it's certain that Mick Jagger's on lead vocals, and virtually certain that Keith Richards is on one of the guitars. These are the very earliest Rolling Stones recordings to have appeared on a bootleg. The recording is crude, and the accompaniment primitive (particularly the drums, which aren't even included on all the tracks). Yet the similarity to what the Stones would become is unmistakable, with Jagger's singing sounding almost exactly similar to his style on the earliest Stones records, and a Chuck Berry chug already present in the guitars, though the rudimentary amplification produces some odd fiddle-like sounds.

01 Little Queenie
02 Beautiful Delilah
03 Down The Road Apiece
04 I Ain't Got You
05 Leave Me Alone
06 Goodbye Girl
07 It Should Be You
08 That Girl Belongs To Yesterday
09 Ain't That Loving You Baby
10 Don't Lie To Me
11 Mona
12 Walking The Dog
13 Bye Bye Johnny
14 I Wanna Be Your Man
15 Roll Over Beethoven
16 Little By Little
17 I Just Want To Make Love To You
18 I'm Moving On
19 Not Fade Away
20 Beautiful Delilah
21 High Heeled Sneakers
22 Meet Me In The Bottom
23 You Can Make It If You Try
24 Route 66
25 Confessin' The Blues
26 Down The Road Apiece
27 It's All Over Now
28 If You Need Me
29 Carol
30 Around And Around
31 I Can't Be Satisfied
32 Crackin' Up

Category: The Rolling Stones | Views: 1722 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  October 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0