Wednesday, 2024-07-24, 1:03 PM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2010 » October » 19 » The Hobbits - 1967-1969 - Discography
5:06 AM
The Hobbits - 1967-1969 - Discography
The Hobbits - 1967 - Down to Middle Earth

Folk-rock outfit the Hobbits was the studio project of Queens, New York-born singer/songwriter Jimmy Curtiss, who ranks as one of the more interesting footnotes in the history of rock & roll  — the rare would-be teen idol who actually wrote his own material (and did so admirably), he later expanded his reach into psychedelia and harmony-laden folk-rock, but while the subject of a small cult following, none of his records ever made a commercial dent. Curtiss first surfaced in 1959 as a member of the doo wop combo the Enjays and issued his solo debut, "Without You," on United Artists in 1961 — the label attempted to position him as a teen crooner in the mold of Bobby Vee or Paul Anka, but he failed to make a commercial impact. After a period working as a songwriter he dropped out of music to pursue a career in advertising before resurfacing in 1967 with the bubblegum cult classic "Psychedelic Situation," a major hit in Germany that attracted little attention at home. Curtiss then signed to Decca, collaborating with producers Jerry Vance and Terry Phillips and songwriter Marcia Hillman on the Hobbits — despite borrowing their name from J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings novels and titling their 1967 debut Down to Middle Earth, The Hobbits turned out relatively straightforward sunshine pop, and the album is much sought-after by soft-psych aficionados. The follow-up, Men and Doors: The Hobbits Communicate, appeared in 1968 — like its predecessor, the record didn't sell, and Decca terminated the contract. After rechristening the group The New Hobbits, Curtiss released 1969's Back From Middle Earth, essentially a solo effort. []

01 - Down To Middle Earth
02 - I'm Just A Young Man
03 - Daffodil Days (The Affection Song)
04 - Break Away
05 - Treats
06 - Hands And Knees
07 - Let Me Run My Fingers Through Your Mind (Buy My Flowers)
08 - Out Of My Mind
09 - Clap Hands Til Daddy Comes Home
10 - Sunny Day Girl


The Hobbits - 1968 - Men and Doors - The Hobbits Communicate

This is the second album by The Hobbits. Only remaining member of the band at this moment was Jimmy Curtis. New line-up includes Gini Eastwood, Heather Hewitt and flamenco guitarist Marius.

01 - Men And Doors.mp3
02 - Espanña Baby.mp3
03 - Let Me Make My Own Mistakes.mp3
04 - Feeling.mp3
05 - Words Get In The Way.mp3
06 - The Journey.mp3
07 - Will You Be Ready For Tomorrow.mp3
08 - Love Is.mp3
09 - Strawberry Children.mp3
10 - University Of The Street.mp3
11 - Artificial Face.mp3


The New Hobbits - 1969 - Back from Middle Earth

01 - You Could Have Made It Easy
02 - Growin' Old
03 - I Could Hear The Grass Growin'
04 - Comin' Out
05 - The Devils Gonna Get Me
06 - Underground
07 - Love Can Set You Free
08 - Flora
09 - Woman So Worried

Category: Oldies | Views: 2129 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  October 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0