Tuesday, 2024-07-16, 10:30 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to freemusic07@gmail.com


Main » 2010 » November » 17 » The Band - 1972 - Rock of Ages: The Band in Concert
4:44 AM
The Band - 1972 - Rock of Ages: The Band in Concert

The Band was an acclaimed and influential rock music group. The original group consisted of Canadians Rick Danko (bass guitar, double bass, fiddle, vocals), Garth Hudson (keyboard instruments, saxophone), Richard Manuel (piano, drums, vocals), Robbie Robertson (guitar, vocals), and American Levon Helm (drums, mandolin, guitar, vocals). All five members were notable musicians in their own right. The members of the Band first came together as they joined rockabilly singer Ronnie Hawkins' backing group, The Hawks, one by one between 1958 and 1963. Upon leaving Hawkins in 1964, they were known as The Levon Helm Sextet (the sixth member being sax player Jerry Penfound), then Levon and the Hawks (without Penfound). In 1965, they released a single on Ware Records under the name Canadian Squires, but returned as Levon and the Hawks for a recording session for Atco later in 1965. At about the same time, Bob Dylan recruited Helm and Robertson for two concerts, then the entire group for his U.S. tour in 1965 and world tour in 1966. They also joined him on the informal recordings that later became The Basement Tapes. Rock of Ages: The Band in Concert is The Band's fifth album. A live disc recorded during their series of shows at New York City's Academy of Music on December 28–31, 1971, it combines several of their hits with enthusiastic covers of songs originally performed by the likes of Marvin Gaye and Chuck Willis and features a wild organ improvisation by organist Garth Hudson, recorded as 1971 turned to 1972. Bob Dylan appeared on stage for the concert's final four songs, including a version of the rare song "When I Paint My Masterpiece".

Disc 1

01 - Don't Do It
02 - King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
03 - Caledonia Mission
04 - Get Up, Jake
05 - The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
06 - Stage Fright
07 - The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
08 - Across The Great Divide
09 - This Wheel's On Fire
10 - Rag Mama Rag

Disc 2

01 - The Weight
02 - The Shape I'm In
03 - Unfaithful Servant
04 - Life Is A Carnival
05 - The Genetic Method
06 - Chest Fever
07 - (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes

Category: Oldies | Views: 1379 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  November 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0