Tuesday, 2024-07-16, 8:35 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to freemusic07@gmail.com


Main » 2010 » November » 02

Hair: The American Tribal Love-Rock Musical is a rock musical with a book and lyrics by James Rado and Gerome Ragni and music by Galt MacDermot. A product of the hippie counter-culture and sexual revolution of the 1960s, several of its songs became anthems of the anti-Vietnam War peace movement. The musical's profanity, its depiction of the use of illegal drugs, its treatment of sexuality, its irreverence for the American flag, and its nude scene caused much comment and controversy. The musical broke new ground in musical theatre by defining the genre of "rock musical", using a racially integrated cast, and inviting the audience onstage for a "Be-In" finale. After an off-Broadway debut in October 1967 at Joseph Papp's Public Theater and a subsequent run in a midtown discothèque space, the show opened on Broadway in April 1968 and ran for 1,750 performances. Simultaneous productions in cities across the United States and Europe followed shortly thereafter, including a successful London production, which ran for 1,997 performances.

01 - Aquarius
02 - Donna - Hashish
03 - Sodomy
04 - Colored Spade
05 - Manchester England
06 - I'm Black - Ain't Got No
07 - Air
08 - Initials
09 - I Got Life
10 - Hair
11 - My Conviction
12 - Don't Put It Down
13 - Frank Mills
14 - Be-In
15 - Where Do I Go
16 - Black Boys - White Boys
17 - Easy To Be Hard
18 - Walking In Space
19 - Abie Baby
20 - Three-Five-Zero-Zero - What A Piece Of Work Is Man
21 - Good Morning Starshine
22 - The Flesh Failures (Let The Sunshine In)

Category: Oldies | Views: 1911 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

Grace Slick is an American singer and songwriter, who was one of the lead singers of the rock groups The Great Society, Jefferson Airplane, Jefferson Starship, and Starship, and was a solo artist, for nearly three decades, from the mid-1960s to the mid-1990s. Slick was an important figure in the 1960s psychedelic rock genre, and is known for her witty lyrics and powerful contralto vocals. Manhole is Grace Slick's first solo album credited solely to her (she had previously recorded Sunfighter with Paul Kantner and Baron von Tollbooth and the Chrome Nun with Kantner and David Freiberg, both of whom co-produced Manhole). The album was recorded in 1973, when Jefferson Airplane had stopped touring, and Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady were making the Hot Tuna album, The Phosphorescent Rat. All the members who would form Jefferson Starship in 1974 performed on this album, except for Papa John Creach. The album was conceived as a soundtrack to a movie, although there was no such movie made. Grace drew all of the artwork for the album, and wrote on the cover "Child Type Odd Art by Grace." The album only reached #127 on the Billboard charts.

01 - Jay
02 - Theme From The Movie Manhole
03 - Come Again Toucan
04 - It's Only Music
05 - Better Lying Down
06 - Epic (#38)

Category: Oldies | Views: 1490 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

One of the best Dutch blues groups formed 1967 in The Hague. Ted Oberg Guitar, Ruud VanBuuren Bass, Dick Beekman Drums, Nicko Christiansen Guitar, Vocals, Saxophone and John Legrand Harmonica.

01 - Wang Dang Doodle
02 - I Came Home At Night
03 - Whiskey And Gin
04 - This Is The Hour
05 - When The Sun Goes Down
06 - Go-Go Train
07 - Spoonful

Category: Oldies | Views: 1471 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

Herbert "Herb" Alpert is an American musician most associated with the group variously known as Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass, Herb Alpert's Tijuana Brass or TJB. He is also a recording industry executive — he is the "A" of A&M Records (a recording label he and business partner Jerry Moss founded and eventually sold). Alpert's musical accomplishments include five number one hits, twenty-eight albums on the Billboard charts, eight Grammy Awards, fourteen Platinum albums and fifteen Gold albums. As of 1996, Alpert had sold 72 million albums worldwide. Volume 2 is the second album by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, known in this recording as "Herb Alpert's Tijuana Brass". It was released in 1963 on A&M Records, and sold poorly upon initial release. After the TJB became massively popular with hits from their later albums, Volume 2 was reissued in 1966 and eventually reached #17 on the Billboard album chart. A CD version of the album was issued by A&M Records in 1990 but is now out of print. Some LP copies of the album have a spoken introduction by Herb Alpert at the beginning of "The Great Manolete (La Virgen de la Macarena)".

01 - The Great Manolete (La Virgen De La Macarena)
02 - Spanish Harlem
03 - Swinger From Seville
04 - Winds Of Barcelona
05 - Green Leaves Of Summer
06 - More
07 - America
08 - Surfin' Senorita
09 - Marching Thru Madrid
10 - Crea Mi Amor
11 - Mexican Corn
12 - Milord

Category: Oldies | Views: 1390 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

Silver Apples are a psychedelic electronic music duo from New York City composed of Simeon Coxe III, who performs as Simeon, on a primitive synthesizer of his own devising (also named The Simeon), and until his death in 2005, drummer Danny Taylor. The group was active between 1967 and 1969, before reforming in the mid 1990s. They were one of the first groups to employ electronic music techniques extensively within a rock idiom, and their minimalistic style, with its pulsing, driving beat and frequently discordant modality, anticipated not only the experimental electronic music and krautrock of the 1970s, but also underground dance music and indie rock of the 1990s. Silver Apples is the debut album by the band. It was the most successful original album by the band, reaching 193 on the Billboard 200. The album was re-released in 1997 by MCA Records.

01 - Oscillations
02 - Seagreen Serenades
03 - Lovefingers
04 - Program
05 - Velvet Cave
06 - Whirly-Bird
07 - Dust
08 - Dancing Gods
09 - Misty Mountain

Category: Oldies | Views: 1308 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

Steve Ellis & the Starfires, garage folk rock band from Pipestone, Minnesota. This is not The Love Affair's Steve Ellis. Rare & legendary LP from 1967. This reissue is produced from the original tapes and includes 2 previously unreleased tracks. A must-have for fans of the Byrds and the 12-string folk rock aesthetic.

01 - Pride Of A Man
02 - Her Face
03 - On My Mind
04 - Looking Thru Me
05 - My Baby's Gone
06 - That's How It Feels
07 - Walking Around
08 - Pride Of A Man - Alt.
09 - On My Mind - Unreleased Version
10 - Since I Fell For You - Unreleased Version

Category: Oldies | Views: 1846 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Date: 2010-11-02

Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  November 2010  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0