Saturday, 2024-07-13, 10:22 AM
Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | RSS


If you find any dead link please report it to


Main » 2011 » June » 30 » Phil Ochs - 1964 - All the News That's Fit to Sing
9:18 PM
Phil Ochs - 1964 - All the News That's Fit to Sing

Philip David Ochs was an American protest singer (or, as he preferred, a topical singer) and songwriter who was known for his sharp wit, sardonic humor, earnest humanism, political activism, insightful and alliterative lyrics, and haunting voice. He wrote hundreds of songs in the 1960s and released eight albums in his lifetime. Ochs performed at many political events, including anti-Vietnam War and civil rights rallies, student events, and organized labor events over the course of his career, in addition to many concert appearances at such venues as New York City's Town Hall and Carnegie Hall. Politically, Ochs described himself as a "left social democrat" who became an "early revolutionary" after the protests at the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago led to a police riot, which had a profound effect on his state of mind. After years of prolific writing in the 1960s, Ochs's mental stability declined in the 1970s. He eventually succumbed to a number of problems including bipolar disorder and alcoholism, and took his own life in 1976. Some of Ochs's major influences were Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Buddy Holly, Elvis Presley, Bob Gibson, Faron Young, Merle Haggard, John Wayne, and John F. Kennedy. All The News That's Fit to Sing was Phil Ochs' first official album. Recorded in 1964 for Elektra Records, it was full of many elements that would come back throughout his career. It was the album that defined his "singing journalist" phase, strewn with songs whose roots were allegedly pulled from Newsweek magazine. It is one in a long line of folk albums used to tell stories about everyday struggles and hardships.

01 - One More Parade
02 - The Thresher
03 - Talking Vietnam Blues
04 - Lou Marsh
05 - Power And The Glory
06 - Celia
07 - The Bells
08 - Automation Song
09 - Ballad Of William Worthy
10 - Knock On The Door
11 - Talking Cuban Crisis
12 - Bound For Glory
13 - Too Many Martyrs
14 - What's That I Hear
15 - Bullets Of Mexico

LINK RS    or    LINK FS

Category: Oldies | Views: 3092 | Added by: Fremy0766 | Rating: 0.0/0
Site menu
Login form
Section categories
«  June 2011  »

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0